Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
I'm Dying to Talk About "Hades"
6
0:00
-8:08

I'm Dying to Talk About "Hades"

Failure can be a way forward.
6

For the last month or so, I’ve been obsessively playing the video game “Hades.” Since we’ve been talking about ways to stay vibrant inside during this especially gloomy stretch of winter, I thought this would be the perfect opportunity for me to joy-vomit about this game. (Joy-vomit — hmm, what do y’all think? I’m workshopping it.) I’ve got a LOT to say about this game. Narrative structure, masculinity, queerness, failure as a way forward, hot gods. It’s all happening!

Is this an ad? No. Are video game companies welcome to send me cool games and pay me to play them and maybe talk about them? SURE.


Video games don’t pay for themselves.


Also, I think the screenshot below is a great example of what sets “Hades” apart. In addition to the gorgeous art, Demeter’s declaration that “motherhood’s a curse” is fascinating and complicated. Moments like this are why I’m so happy I’ve embraced video games.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy my chaotic little rant about why I’m enjoying the game. And I hope you have a great weekend. If you’re playing “Hades” and want to talk about it in the comments, PLEASE DO. Let’s just avoid spoilers as best we can.

6 Comments
Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
Life itself as a creative process.