Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
POEM: "At 84 Years Old, Toni Morrison Wonders If She’s Depressed"
0:00
-3:23

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Werk-In-Progress

POEM: "At 84 Years Old, Toni Morrison Wonders If She’s Depressed"

"My god, the ghosts don't come quietly anymore."
4

Since I’m re-reading Toni Morrison’s novel Jazz, I thought now would be ideal time to share the poem I wrote about her for my book Alive at the End of the World. This is a persona poem inspired by her 2015 “Fresh Air” interview with Terry Gross, during which Morrison admitted “I guess I’m depressed. (laughter) I don’t know. I can’t explain it. Part of it is the irritability of being eighty-four, and part of it is being not as physically strong as I once was. And part of it is my misunderstanding, I think, of what’s going on in the world.”

At 84 Years Old, Toni Morrison Wonders If She’s Depressed

History pretends to forget itself

and memory bruises me back

into a burdened blue hour. My god,

the ghosts don’t come quietly

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Werk-In-Progress to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
Life itself as a creative process.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Saeed Jones