36 Comments
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Most recently, Somebody's Daughter by Ashley C. Ford. I couldn't put it down.

Expand full comment

Ooh definitely Know My Name by Chanel Miller and Between Two Kingdoms by Suleika Jaouad, both were so beautifully written about incredibly difficult experiences.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Came here to say Just Kids by Patti Smith. And more recently Also A Poet by Ada Calhoun.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Know My Name by Chanel Miller is a gold medal worthy memoir in my opinion. Other memoirs that come to mind that are gold medal worthy are: Beautiful Country by Qian Julie Wang, Unbound by Tarana Burke, and Somebody's Daughter by Ashley C. Ford! Dirtbag, Massachusetts is on my list of books to buy next time I'm at the bookstore so hopefully will read it soon!!

(am I allowed to name yours? Because yours is definitely on the list also)

Expand full comment

Hunger by Roxane Gay, In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado, Being Lolita by Allisson Wood, and Abandon Me by Melissa Febos

Expand full comment

Crying in H Mart was excellent as was Goodbye Sweet Girl by Kelly Sundberg. I also just love Cheryl Strayed essay The Love of My Life - it has me in tears each time. Know My Name by Chanel Miller was awesome, especially listening to it on audiobook. Minor Feelings by Cathy Park Hong was awesome too! I also absolutely loved Hunger by Roxane Gay

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Love is a Mix Tape, Rob Sheffield. It's somehow deeply emotionally relevant to both my marriages in radically different ways.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Yours, Saeed, and Somebody's Daughter by Ashley C. Ford are two of my favs. I take them off the shelf often just for inspiration. Also, how can we find out when/where you'll be teaching again? I'd love to sign up!

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Barbarian Life by William Finnegan. A surfing memoir that is insightful and fascinating without being overly impressed with its topic. Addresses fear and uncertainty way more than ‘woah, a huge wave! anecdotes. My attention never dropped.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Smile: the story of a face by Sarah Ruhl, Between Two Kingdoms by Suleika Jaouad and Easy Beauty by Chloé Cooper Jones are some recent favorites!

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

On a light note, Yearbook by Seth Rogen (if you consider that a memoir?) is fantastic. A nice respite from the heaviness all around us.

Expand full comment

Since Jan of 2021, I have read or listened to* 50+ memoirs from authors who are not white, cis men & who are not celebrities (w the exception of Billy Porter’s Unrotected because Billy Porter). I started doing this because I started working on my memoir and nothing I wrote sounded like what I thought a memoir sounded like.

I’ve thought a lot about which ones I really loved and wondered how much of that was connected to where I was - physically and mentally - in the hardest year of my life (at that time). And I was (sometimes painfully aware) of the ones I didn’t love - or maybe even didn’t really like or maybe just wasn’t impressed by - that writers I respect and follow raves about.

Here are my faves, in no particular order:

• Heavy by Kiese Laymon

• Shoutin in the Fire by Dante Stewart

• Here for it by R. Eric Lewis

• Homeland Elegies by Ayad Akhtar

• In the Dreamhouse by Carmen Maria Muchado

• How to write an Autobiograpgical Novel by Alexander Chee

• How We Figjt for Our Lives by Saeed Jones :)

• Men We Reaped by Jesmyn Ward

• All the Young Men: a memoir of love, AIDS, and chosen family in the American South by Ruth Coker Burks

• Against Memoir by Michelle Tea

• the Art Of Leaving by Ayelet Tsabari

*i always choose to listen to the audio of a memoir if the author reads it!

Expand full comment

There are so many good modern ones that I’m sure will get listed so I just have to say ME by Katharine Hepburn. She isn’t precious about herself and has some life philosophies that I still think about now, years after reading it.

Expand full comment
Jul 20, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Stepping Back from the Ledge by Laura Trujillo...not only well-written but made a personal connection to me and my relationship with my mother.

Excited to dive into Dirtbag, Massachusetts. It's on the list!

Expand full comment

A few memoirs that really stuck with me:

Smoke Gets in Your Eyes & Other Lessons from the Crematorium by Caitlin Doughty

Crying in H Mart by Michelle Zauner

Somebody’s Daughter by Ashley C. Ford

Meaty by Samantha Irby (technically essays, but still has a memoir aspect to it!)

Priestdaddy by Patricia Lockwood

Also, Saeed, your memoir is fantastic. I read it in a day- I couldn’t put it down!

Expand full comment

Heavy by Kiese Laymon gets extra mention always. Natasha Trethewey's Memorial Drive. And Gloria Swanson's early Hollywood dish, Swanson on Swanson.

Expand full comment

I remember Mary Karr's Lit blowing me away when it came out. I just read—and really enjoyed—Ada Calhoun's Also a Poet, which is such an interesting combination of ideas and narrative threads. And Paul Monette's Becoming a Man got richer and more important the second time I read it...and this is reminding me I should go back and do that again.

Expand full comment

Angela’s Ashes, Frank McCourt

Becoming, Michelle Obama

Heavy, Kiese Laymon

Educated, Tara Westiver

The World According To Fannie Davis, Bridgett M Davis

Expand full comment

When Women Were Birds by Terry Tempest Williams is the one that comes to mind for me.

Expand full comment

My Broken Language by Quiara Alegria Hudes. Beautiful evocation of one Puerto Rican family’s experience on the mainland that resonated with me, but also her creative journey. Honest and rich in details and language.

Expand full comment

As usual, loving this conversation and adding titles to my list of books to read. As others have said your work, Saeed, is a favorite. And one that I read back in a memoir class in undergrad that still haunts me is First They Killed My Father by Loung Ung.

Expand full comment

No Lifeguard on Duty by Janice Dickinson

Expand full comment

Heavy is the GOAT memoir for me - the artistry and the way is circles around what is the truth of a situation and why it matters to get it right but how hard that is even when you want to do it.

I also loved Leaving isn't the hardest thing because the content is very personal and relevant to me.

And there's a ton of memoirs I've been meaning to read that I haven't gotten to yet lol

Expand full comment