99 Comments
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

OHMYGOD I love this subject. I live in Austin, and BookPeople is my go to, but my all time favorite is Parnassus in Nashville. I worship at the alter of Ann Patchett and Mary Laura Philpott, AND they have ShopDogs you can visit too!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

eyyyyyyy, Women and Children First on Clark, Chicago

Expand full comment

Cafe Noir is Black-woman owned, and Noble is so nice (they even have a very good restaurant and bar inside the shop!). Both in Memphis, TN.

Expand full comment

I'll always love Books are Magic and The Strand, but Quail Ridge Books here in Raleigh, NC (where I've very recently relocated to from NYC) is pretty great!! And even though I don't live there, there's a really soft spot in my heart for Charm City Books in Baltimore - they are delightful all around had such cute giveaways bundled with R. Eric Thomas's latest book!!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Powell's (Hawthorne location) in Portland and Birchbark in Minneapolis are my all time favorites.

Henry Miller Library is also pretty amazing.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Out to...

Chicago - Pilsen Community Books and Semicolon Bookstore

Brooklyn - Playground Coffee Shop/Annex

ATL - For Keeps

LA - Reparations Club

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Downbound Books in the Northside neighborhood of Cincinnati. Small but mighty with a carefully curated selection. Awesome staff too. My absolute go-to here.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Carmichael’s, in Louisville, Kentucky! We weren’t allowed to go there growing up because my dad worked at a different independent bookstore, which eventually was sold (RIP Hawley-Cooke). Glad to support another local option whenever I’m home!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

Interabang Books in Dallas 🥰

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022·edited Oct 14, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

always partial to Word on the Water, a book barge on Regent's Canal in London. stoking grand aspirations, I recently learned of this "Book-et List," which was compiled from a similar thread that asked after people's favorite indie shops and resulted in this map, mostly on the North American and European continents: https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewer?mid=1AeUix3hB2TqSAtg8GHcDC97rUjr6WpY&ll=39.11368805204346%2C-84.72103619374418&z=6

Expand full comment

Viewpoint Books in Columbus, the one in Indiana.

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

From NYC originally. Mysterious Book Shop in Tribeca was so lovely. Now I'm in Atlanta and I love A Capella Books and Charis Books.

Expand full comment

In Minneapolis, we have the new Black Garnet Books which is Black and queer owned opening tomorrow (shout out to Dionne for crushing it!!!), and my other favorite, Magers & Quinn!

Expand full comment

Also I've only been to each of them once while visiting London, but Word on the Water: the London Bookbarge is this incredible little bookshop on a barge on Regent's Canal, and I took a day trip to the seaside town of Whistable in Kent, and the upstairs reading circle set up in Harbour Books (and the whole store) will live in my dreams hereafter!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

The Bookery in Manchester, NH is my fave! Excellent curation and awesome staff! Last weekend I met a bookseller named Rebecca there and instantly recognized a kindred spirit

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Saeed Jones

I have never been to Mysterious Galaxy in person, but their customer service is top notch! https://www.mystgalaxy.com/

Expand full comment

RIP St.Marks

Expand full comment

Kathleen Caldwell at a Great Good Place for Books in Montclair! Also John Evans and Alison Reid of Diesel Books (San Diego and Malibu).

Expand full comment

Saeed the next time you’re in NYC you must visit The Lit. Bar in the Bronx!! Afro-Latina owned and the only bookstore in the Bronx, which is WILD. An amazing vibe and serves generous glasses of wine and prosecco!! My second fave is The Strand, cuz well, it’s The Strand. Lol

Expand full comment
founding

Nashville.

Parnassus Books.

ANN PATCHETT IS AN OWNER.

That's it.

Expand full comment

I like Brookline Booksmith in MA, they have great recommendations and the staff is so nice!

Expand full comment

I live just outside Portland, OR so of course Powell's is amazing. But I also make a point of getting many of my books- and I buy a lot, could be I'm a book hoarder- from a lovely little small bookstore called Broadway Books in inner NE Portland. It's a little, female owned shop with super friendly employees and just a great overall vibe. Everyone who sets foot in there is a book lover

Expand full comment

As an indie bookseller, this thread fills my heart. <3

Expand full comment

I love indie bookstores and try to find one to visit in every city where I travel. Hands-down, my FAVORITE indie is Women & Children First in the Andersonville neighborhood in Chicago!

Expand full comment

Jenny Lawson/The Bliggess opened Nowhere Bookshop in San Antonio, Texas and I may have to visit San Antonio just to stop by.

Expand full comment

I love Birchbark in Minneapolis, Arcadia Books in Spring Green, Wisconsin, and Boswell Books in Milwaukee (and it's excellent owner Daniel Goldin). I also love the Haunted Bookshop in Iowa City, a really wonderful used bookstore that may be haunted but I've not seen any ghosts.

Expand full comment

I live in Blue Hill, Maine and Blue Hill Books is a gem in our community!

Expand full comment

Women and Children First in Chicago and Bookends and Beginnings in Evanston, IL!

Expand full comment

I have to shoutout my favorite DC bookstores: Loyalty Bookstore, Second Story Books, and Bold Fork Books (which is a cook book store!)

Expand full comment

Indigenous-owned Iron Dog Books in Vancouver!

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022·edited Oct 14, 2022

MUNRO’S -Victoria, BC Canada. Started by Nobel Prize winning Alice Munro and her then-husband Bill. She left and kept writing and he stayed and ran the store. It has been the top book store in town for decades and when Bill grew too old to manage the store he sold/gave it to the employees. Still the best!!!

Expand full comment

Books Are Magic and Greenlight in Brooklyn; Harvard Book Store in Cambridge; Lit Bar in the Bronx

Expand full comment

Three Lives & Co. on West 10th St. in the Village. They love books and the people who love books, have a welcome newsletter, and know how to facilitate browsing. Also excellent joint for meeting up with old friends.

Expand full comment

Let's talk about THE MALVERN, in Austin, whose selection is teeming with small press titles and back catalogues from the bigger independents. Or let's talk about HARRIET'S BOOKSHOP in Philadelphia, a black woman-owned shop whose beautiful curation is matched only by its presentation. Dying to go back.

This list is GOLDEN and I now have so many new haunts to check out.

Expand full comment

Miami's Books and Books is not only a great indie, it's been a community and cultural hub for decades.

Expand full comment

All the love for Kris Kleindienst and her merry band of elves at Left Bank Books in St Louis! ❤️

Expand full comment

It is niche but Omnivore Books (full name: Omnivore Books On Food) in San Francisco. It's a tiny little shop and the shelves are just stuffed with books related to food and drink, but not just cookbooks, stuff on history and culture as well. The owner was paying her employee during the thick of lockdown so whenever I felt the need for some retail therapy I placed an order without guilt. The owner often tweets photos of the customer of the day... which is always a dog. She is also one of the owners of the adjoining pet supplies shop. https://omnivorebooks.myshopify.com/

Expand full comment

How can I pick just one?! Talking leaves in Buffalo is where I spent many hours browsing while in college. Parnassus in Nashville is a fav now that I am a 25 minute car ride away. But my current fav has to be Hudubam in Clarksville, Tennessee. My local place. 🤓

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022·edited Oct 13, 2022

Politics and Prose in DC, Flying Cloud in tiny Easton, MD, and Visible Voices in Cleveland, OH!

Expand full comment

Community Bookstore in park slope was my favorite indie when I lived there - it just had the best selection, best events, cutest kids nook. I loved it so much it inspired me to open my own indie bookstore four yrs ago!

Expand full comment

Next Chapter in St. Paul and Magers & Quinn in Mpls are my faves here and I'm going to a destination bookstore in December - Books and Books in Key West!

Expand full comment

I have to shout out my mom's bookstores, Riverstone Books, in and around Pittsburgh.

Others I love: News from Nowhere (Liverpool, England) Gay's the Word (London) and all the bookstores in Northampton, MA.

Expand full comment

Somos Voces is the only gay bookstore in Mexico City, where I currently live. It's all in Spanish so it is pretty intimidating most of the time. But last summer I joined a book club and really pushed myself to discover a whole new world of gay literature and a new gay experience in Mexico, which is very different from what I knew in the US.

They do so much programming and promotion to promote literature in the gay community. It's a very special place.

Expand full comment

Mil Mundos in Bushwick! A radical bilingual bookstore with some amazing virtual spanish language learning classes that have brought so much joy and enrichment to my life.

Expand full comment

Antigone Books in Tucson, AZ - it's woman owned and the country's first 100% solar-powered bookstore

Expand full comment

A Room of One’s Own in Madison, WI! Queer & Trans owned. I can walk to this amazing place, I am so damn lucky.

Gotta shout out Fawzy, who was recently in the NY Times for their amazing book charts:

https://www.nytimes.com/2022/08/15/style/book-recommendations-flow-charts.html?smid=nytcore-ios-share&referringSource=articleShare

Expand full comment

Mr B's in Bath, England, UK. Outstanding customer service, incredible knowledge of new and less well profiled authors, and they do a 'Book Spa' where you can have a bespoke service helping you find a new stack of perfect books...with cake.

Expand full comment

It's not even in my state, but whenever I buy hardcover books, I try to do it from Nowhere Bookshop in TX, the store that belongs top Jenny Lawson aka The Bloggess.

Expand full comment

Books on First in Dixon, Illinois is my favorite. It is a cozy little store that makes you want to come back again and again.

Expand full comment

I love this!! I traveled full time in 2021, and I spent the month of April in a little town called Jackson, Tennessee. It’s about halfway between Nashville & Memphis. The owner of the place I stayed knew I was a writer and suggested I check out the local bookstore. And I am so glad I did! It was National Poetry Month, so obvi I had to get all the poetry books. The owner took a photo of me, which you can see on her insta here (https://www.instagram.com/p/CNdBxQ9BKSX/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=)

It’s called Light Trap Books and it’s in a tiny store - meaning it’s like a tiny house but a store and only for books! The owner was amazing and I continue to reach out to her ocassionally (I worry sometimes she’s gonna find it a bit stalkerish, lol). I chose her store for my Bookshop & Libro accounts too.

Expand full comment