Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
POEM: "All I Gotta Do Is Stay Black and Die"
11
0:00
-3:52

POEM: "All I Gotta Do Is Stay Black and Die"

"I keep losing people who were never really mine."
11

My book ALIVE AT THE END OF THE WORLD comes out next week! I’m so excited to finally be able to put this book in y’all’s hands. Thank you for all the pre-orders and support along the way. Today’s poem is dedicated to comedian Paul Mooney and the many, many artists I’ve come to think of as black saints.

Also, I woke up this morning to an incredible review of the book by Ronnie K. Stephens over at The Poetry Question. I mean: “Jones reaffirms his place as one of the most talented living poets writing in English with this collection, demonstrating an ever-evolving mastery of language and a distinct eye for structural balance.” DAMN.

All I Gotta Do Is Stay Black and Die

Paul Mooney’s heart stopped this morning in Oakland,

and the night Whitney Houston died, the National Anthem

shot itself in the throat. I fell asleep watching Aretha’s funeral

and when I woke up, she was somehow still dead. Somehow,

I keep losing people who were never really mine. Diahann

Caroll died and I walked into my bedroom closet, looking

for a mink coat I didn’t have and pearl necklaces I will never

own because I missed them already. Luther, are there closets

in heaven? Little Richard, if you stand in a closet and scream

loud enough for white people to steal your sound, is it really

a closet? I should’ve kissed you when I had the chance. I think

Cicely Tyson left because she knew how this song was gonna

end and didn’t want to hear it. I think Maya is still somewhere

correcting what people call her. I think Toni Morrison always

knew it’s not the death that hurts, it’s the dying.

11 Comments
Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
Life itself as a creative process.