Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
I'm Re-Reading Toni Morrison's JAZZ
0:00
-5:10

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Werk-In-Progress

I'm Re-Reading Toni Morrison's JAZZ

"Sth, I know that woman.”
3

Inspired by a recent essay by my friend Morgan Parker, I’ve decided to re-read Toni Morrison’s novel Jazz. This voice-note is about the book’s opening paragraph and Morrison’s intention to write the novel as a kind of jazz composition. As Morgan explains “Jazz is a tale told in and out of sync, one that roams as thoughts roam, digresses as conversations digress and moves forward and backward in time.”

I’ll probably share a few voice memos along the way as I read. Stay tuned!

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Werk-In-Progress to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
Life itself as a creative process.