Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
I Don't Know What's Around the Corner
5
0:00
-5:24

I Don't Know What's Around the Corner

But I'm taking gratitude with me.
5

Another year is barreling toward us.

Waaaaaaaaay, waaaaaaaay back in December 2019, I wrote an essay about how my mother raised me to focus on forging a spirit of determination for the new year.

Here’s the gist: “More than the goals she’d write down, the act of summoning her determination with clear eyes and at full-volume is what I continue to cherish and honor. I will always be her son. I will always do my best to enact what I learned from her. I will define my life not by fear, loss or scarcity, but by potential. I will always win in the way that matters most. I know this is true because we win the moment we summon the strength necessary to make a determination.”


Remember, y’all: vibes don’t pay the bills.


If that essay inspires you to write determinations of your own this new year, I’m grateful. It’s an extension of my continued relationship with my mother. That said, as I’ve been trying to draft new determinations in my head, I have realized that something has changed. And I know my mom would want me to move in the direction of what is true now.

Determinations aren’t the right mindset for me at the moment. I don’t have it in me to set an agenda for the new year; it doesn’t feel right to make demands of the future. This voice note is about what I’ve decided to focus on instead.

See y’all on the other side of whatever happens next.

5 Comments
Werk-In-Progress
Werk-In-Progress
Life itself as a creative process.